Facebook FAILS at customer support w.r.t trademarks

There is a point at which an interaction with a faceless corporation becomes a lifesucking bane – and I’ve reached it.  As is usually the case with this sort of thing, I have to ask myself whether I should just let the matter drop, or escalate.  The hell with it.  Facebook – this problem is of your creation, not mine.

If you are reading this blog you know that I am in the process of starting Cinecandy, a cool little social/group video concept.  I have spent a ton of time developing the product, and am getting ready to launch.  I began preparations over six months ago, picking the name, securing the domain, the twitter handle, and the the Facebook fan page.

The thing is, when the fan page hit the requisite 25 “Likes,” I was still not able to claim the username.  It was unavailable, but no one was using it.

Facebook needs to figure out and communicate their trademark policy

I own the trademark, so I had recourse – or so I thought.

I filled out the trademark infringement form on Facebook and waited for a response.  Their response was come back in 60 days.

Specifically:

“we’re unable to process your request because another entity has made a previous request concerning this username. If you are still interested in claiming the username, please contact us in 60 days for an update about its availability. “

So, I came back in 60 days.  Still the page with the username is unused.  A second “come back in 60 days.”

“Unfortunately, this username is still unavailable.  Please feel free to check back with us again in 60 days, or you can reply to this email a different username that you would like to add to your account.  If you would like for us to look into adding an alternate username, then please also provide us with the relevant trademark information.”

WTF???  I might even be willing to pay the friggin’ squatter if I could contact them, but no:

“Unfortunately, we are unable to provide you with contact details for this other entity.  Please feel free to contact us again in 60 days, and we can provide you an update regarding the availability of this username.”

So my last email was a request for them to explain what their policy on trademark infringement and squatting is, exactly – because it is not posted anywhere.  I get back crickets.

I have now sent them multiple emails with what I think is a reasonable request – please tell me what your policy on this is – and not a single response.

Am I crazy here?  I own the trademark!  No one is using the damned username!  It’s not even FOUND when you go to http://www.facebook.com/cinecandy!

The complaint number is

#255038642

Anyone have any ideas?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment